About Our Eastern Shore Bed and Breakfast
Bruce and Carol Evans have managed to “pepper” their full-time innkeeping job with community involvement and pursuit of sharing gifts and talents.
Originally from South Florida, in his early retirement from management in the retail corporate world, Bruce led the adventure to renovate and restore the 1912 Colonial Revival home from a residence to an award-winning bed and breakfast. Their deep appreciation of the structures, architecture and history, and the opportunity to retain its integrity and charm soon became their full-time commitment. As an escape, Bruce quickly became involved in equity musical theater, a love rekindled from several years ago of acting and barbershop singing. The long-neglected yard and once gracious flowerbeds also beckoned. With a passion for gardening, Bruce pridefully transformed the surrounding grounds into an exciting and enchanting extension of living space. Bruce has also managed some time for community endeavors…he chaired the County’s Industrial Development Authority at it’s inception, served on the board for Citizens for a Better Eastern Shore, served 16 years and is the past chairman for the Cape Charles Planning Commission, has been elected to two terms on the Cape Charles Town Council and also served as Vice-Mayor.
Carol has found an arena for her love of food preparation, interior decorating, designing and volunteering. She and Bruce have made all the color, fabric and furniture selections for their comfortably elegant rooms. Writing for a national cooking magazine and teaching microwave cooking has given Carol the opportunity to proof recipes, then enhance flavors and create a presentation that becomes a part of the WOW when served to guests. Soon after moving to the Eastern Shore from Chesapeake, Virginia to open their bed and breakfast, Carol become very involved in the Eastern Shore B&B Association as their President. She has also served on the board for the Bed and Breakfast Association of Virginia for 5 years, one as Vice-president of Marketing. She has served as President for Cape Charles Northampton County Chamber of Commerce and currently sits on their board. She is also currently a Commissioner and past Chairman for the Eastern Shore Tourism Commission and works closely with the Virginia Tourism Commission (www.virginia.org). Carol served on the Eastern Shore Community College Foundation Board and has instructed their Customer Service Training Program.
After a restoring night’s sleep, awaken to the delicious full gourmet breakfast graciously served in the large formal dining room. For the health-conscious, special dietary needs can be discussed when making reservations. Since Carol has taught microwave cooking and written for a national cooking magazine, each morning’s meal is unique and beautifully presented. Herbs from Bruce’s well-tended garden are used in the kitchen, along with Cape Charles House propitiatory coffee blended and roasted by Eastern Shore Coastal Roasting Company. Daily baked breads will add to your culinary breakfast experience.
Complimentary wine and cheese and tea and sweets are served in the afternoon or early evening. Care is taken to make your stay restful, pleasant, and memorable by paying particular attention to detail.
Please notify us at the time of your reservation of dietary restrictions or food allergies.
Cape Charles, the first planned community on the Eastern Shore, owes its existence to the presence of the New York, Philadelphia and Norfolk Railroad, which extended to the lower Eastern Shore in the early 1880’s. Beginning in 1933, passenger and freight trains as well as automobiles were ferried across the Chesapeake Bay from this terminus, helping to make Cape Charles a Mecca for passengers and freight. In the 1950’s, Cape Charles slumbered when the auto ferry terminus moved and steamer service ceased.
Most of the town is a historic district, with the majority of the original town structures still standing; only several buildings have been constructed since 1940. Few towns have a comparable collection of more than 500 buildings dating between 1885 and 1940. Many homes have recently been purchased as summer and retirement residences as the vitality of this once-busy town is gradually reawakened.